TikTok’s Working on a New, Opt-In Function to Show You Who Viewed Your Profile


I’m now not solely certain what price this would possibly convey, however TikTok is reportedly running on bringing back the option to see who viewed your profile within the app over the previous 30 days, which would supply extra transparency over consumer passion.

TikTok profile viewers

As you’ll be able to see in those screenshots, exposed by means of app researcher Kev Adriano (and shared by means of Matt Navarra), TikTok seems to be trying out an opt-in capability that might aid you to see who’s trying out your TikTok profile, whilst customers would even be ready to see while you’ve looked at their profile as smartly when this selection is switched on.

Which TikTok used to have, as a approach to build up connections within the app.

TikTok profile views notification

As you’ll be able to see right here, TikTok used to supply a checklist of people that’d looked at your profile, with a view to serving to you to find others to practice who will have an identical, shared pursuits. TikTok got rid of the capability early ultimate yr, amid more than a few investigations into its information sharing processes, and with a number of high-profile cases of TikTok stalkers inflicting real-world issues for platform stars, it made sense that it could now not need to proportion this data anymore, because it most likely handiest will increase nervousness for individuals who will have considerations.

But I suppose, if stalkers sought after to take a look at your profile they wouldn’t flip the characteristic on, so perhaps, by means of making it opt-in, that reduces that component? Maybe.

I don’t know, I don’t see a heap of price right here, and whilst I will be able to perceive, when an app is beginning out, how this type of consciousness would possibly lend a hand to build up community connections, I’m now not certain that it serves any genuine price for TikTok, as opposed to offering perception into who’s poking round, and most likely expanding considerations about positive individuals who stay coming again to take a look at your profile over and over.

Maybe there’s a price for aspiring influencers, in attaining out to doable collaborators who’ve looked at their stuff, or perhaps it really works for hook-ups, if that’s what you need to use TikTok for, which is why the opt-in component is essential.

But similar to the similar characteristic on RelatedIn, most commonly, it kind of feels beautiful pointless. I imply, it’s fairly fascinating to know that anyone from a corporate that you simply’d like to paintings for looked at your profile, but when they did, and so they didn’t really feel pressured to get involved, who actually cares?

There is a restricted price proposition right here, in that obtaining involved with those that did take a look at your profile may just lead to a industry dating, an identical to the above observe on doable collaborators on TikTok. But I’d have an interest to see the true share of a success contacts made is as a results of those insights.

I will be able to’t consider it’s very prime – however perhaps, should you give customers the selection, and so they explicitly opt-in, there may be some price there.

Seems like stalker monitoring to me, and doable angst and warfare as a consequence.

There’s no authentic phrase from TikTok as to whether or not this feature will ever be launched at this level.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button